Cabinet Affairs

It’s been quite a while since I posted but, you know, had a baby and they take up quite a lot of time. But now we have our head above water, have got into a bit of a regime with naps and my part-time-work-at-home work, my attention has turned back to our apartment.

My last post was about creating a nursery in the corner of our splendid bedroom, which is just the loveliest room; drenched in light that goes from sunny yellow to a spectacular palegold in the afternoon and evening. I loved to lie in bed and look at the clouds drifting across the open-shuttered 12ft windows, above the roof of the pretty Gothic Brooklyn church across the road.

That is, I used to love it, because that room now belongs to the baby. All 300 sq t (or whatever it is – bigger than many Manhattan studios I’m sure). It was easier for us to move out into the middle room and make what is now known as the ‘nursery’ for our little Rajah.

Anyway, more on that later.

My current obsession has been searching for a cocktail cabinet to go in between our kitchen surface and bathroom doors. I’ve been scouring Pintrest, Craigslist and other haunts to find something that will fit the small space (34″ wide and about 60″ absolute max). Our budget, as ever, is super tight. $300 would seem like a push and would have to be perfect. Goes without saying, have found lots that are out of budget but fab.

The spec is that it needs to have drawers to hold our napkins, shelves to hold bottles of booze, and a cupboard to hold glasses so I don’t keep shoving them into our kitchen cabinets and risk chipping/smashing them. If they had a display area so I can rummage through the Brooklyn Flea for some pretty cocktail glasses, so much the better.

Here are some that I’ve loved:

This pretty cabinet is called a Chimney Cabinet and was designed for small, narrow spaces in the days before fitted kitchens. I would strip this and paint some bright, solid colour, like yellow… It is within budget(ish) at $325 on Etsy.

Chimney Cabinet

Anything yellow, I love. This is are remake (I think – might be original) of a Hoosier Cabinet Bar and is $1,195, on eBay.

$795 from Ebay. It’s German, and very pretty.

Mega cool. From the 1940s. Found on Pintrest.

The winner (so far) is this little ‘dry sink’, which I stumbled upon when looking online for something else. It doesn’t look like much in the pictures but it fits the space perfectly and I LOVE the colour options. I’d like it in solid Tangerine or Yellow. $200.

Shown in Old Black with Beadboard door

The company, Sawdust City, based in Wisconsin (with good shipping rates), has some great storage solutions. If it wasn’t for the colour options, they could be a bit meh, but with the bright colours, I think it will look really good. You can put a sort of wiremesh on the doors, which looks good and a bit retro-industrial.

The bonus is the sinked top – as we could happily put all our bottles of booze up there without danger of a small person banging into it and knocking them off.

** Update: both the H1B and my stylist friend said, non, to the sinktop. And now I can see they were right. I lost my mind because I found something that would fit the space. Am now on a search for a cool bar cart a la this one from Etsy:

 

Arko Bar Cart

Leave a Reply

